Select-what-others-see-on-linkedin

LinkedIn Tip: Select what others see when you’ve viewed their profile

Would you like to view fellow LinkedIn profiles without anyone knowing that you did? Would you like to casually view profiles without feeling like a stalker?

If you are not aware of this by now, the default setting in LinkedIn, alerts and informs a person that their page has been viewed by you. That means, whenever you view a person’s profile, LinkedIn reports your profile picture, name and lets them know that you’ve just viewed their profile. That’s kinda creepy right? And I know it is for the very reason, many of you are hesitant about viewing profiles because of this default setting. BUT GUESS WHAT?! There’s a way around this! Depending on your goal and strategy for how you use LinkedIn, below is a step by step guide on changing this default setting, so you can casually browse LinkedIn profiles anonymously.

ACTIONABLE TO-DO: Follow the below steps if you would like to change your default settings to be seen as a anonymous viewer. You can  read on OR skip to the video at the end of this post.

Let’s get started:
1.
 Log-in to your LinkedIn account using your desktop/notebook:
2. In the top right corner, hover over your image and a drop down menu will appear.
Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 9.38.25 PM
3. Click on “Privacy & Setting”, You will be taken to your “Privacy & Settings” Page. Here you will be able to manage most of your settings for your LinkedIn account, the one you want to click on is the profile Tab at the bottom half of the screen.
4. Click on “Select what others see when you’ve viewed their profile”
Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 9.38.35 PM

5. After you have clicked on “Select what others see when you’ve viewed their profile”, it may ask you to  re-log back in to your LinkedIn account verifying that you would like to make a few changes. Proceed with re-entering your username and password.
Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 9.41.20 PM
6.
 Here you will be giving 3 options in a pop up window titled “What others see when you’ve viewed their profile”

Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 9.41.37 PM
Here is the breakdown of the 3 options from the above image.

  • (Option 1) Your name and LinkedIn headline (Recommended)
    This is the default setting. LinkedIn will include your profile’s picture, user name and headline when you view other members profile.
  • (Option 2) Anonymous profile characteristics such as industry and title
    LinkedIn picks information from your profile and displays it as a generic title. You have no control over what information is used here. It will not use your image and it may or may not use your title. If your title isn’t generic enough, it will auto populate one it believes to be close to your industry title.
  • (Option 3) You will be totally anonymous.
    When you view someone else’s profile, LinkedIn will only identify you as a LinkedIn Member without providing your profile’s picture, user name and headline. With this setting, the user you’re viewing will have no clue who you are and you are truly anonymous for browsing profiles.

THERE IS A CATCH!! If you choose option 2 or 3, Please Note: Selecting this option will disable Profile Stats. Whenever you switch to anonymous, your viewer history gets erased, COMPLETELY. Profile stats provides information about “Who viewed your profile” and “How you rank for profile views”. I will not go in to details here, but the information can be useful when optimizing your profile at a later time. In the case that you do choose option 2 or 3, you will simple build your stats from scratch.

That’s it for today’s tip brought to you by Socialcated.com! Thank you for reading and I hope you found this post informative.

FINAL ACTIONABLE TO-DO: Want more LinkedIn TIPS and ACTIONABLE TO-DOs? Subscribe and sign up here to stay up to date with the latest. http://eepurl.com/bet7Gv

VIEW THE STEP BY STEP VIDEO BELOW

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *